Cycling Apps

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

I have recently acquired a Wahoo Elemnt Bolt GPS computer to replace the Garmin 520 and 800 that I have been using.  There are a number of reasons for this, not least being that the repeated and extended use of both of the Garmins has made the USB connectors a little dodgy, making charging “interesting” and uploading rides difficult (in the case of the 800).  Also, the 520 was fine for recording data but couldn’t do maps and navigation very well.  The 800 did maps and navigation well enough but is quite long in the tooth which affects battery life.  The Elemnt Bolt combines good data capture and decent maps and navigation, plus some other funky stuff like live tracking which will come in useful from time to time.

What I realised when I was setting up the Bolt was the intricate and linked web of cycling and fitness apps that I have set up at the moment.  If you look at the image above you can see what I mean.

  • I use the Garmins, the Bolt or Trainerroad to actually record ride data such as route, speed, distance, time, power etc.  They all do this in a standard .fit file format
  • In each case the initial load of that data is into a native app.  It’s at this point it gets a bit “busy”
  • Each of these native apps will send the data directly to Strava and TrainingPeaks.  I don’t actually use Strava much but TrainingPeaks is my main resource for logging training and planning it forwards (although I do use Trainerroad for the actual plan and workout execution).
  • In addition, Wahoo sends data to the Apple Health kit, as does Strava
  • Strava sends data to Rubitrack, which holds a complete history of my cycling data on my computer at home (backed up offsite in case you were wondering)
  • HRV4Training logs my heart rate variability (HRV) using my phone and sends that data to both Apple and TrainingPeaks.  It also pulls data back from TrainingPeaks and from Strava
  • Myfitnesspal is a food diary and pulls expended calorie data from TrainingPeaks and shares it with Apple
  • Strava, Komoot and Ridewithgps all allow you to create a gpx routemap for downloading onto a device – they each have their own merits

Luckily I’m a bit of a geek and I like messing about with tech.  And when it all just works it’s pretty seamless.

Leave a Reply

