Jinxed It!

In my last post I wrote

It’s that time of year where it is almost inevitable that colds and bugs go round.  I take multivitamins and have lots of vitamin C/fruit but I am expecting to lose some training days and have built in an allowance for that.  I have made the mistake in the past of trying to train through these things and then regretted it – but there is nothing like making your own mistakes to really hammer home a lesson!  So don’t worry about taking one step back to take two steps forward if necessary, but then you won’t listen to that if you’re anything like me!

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Literally the week later I was struck down with some sort of illness that knocked me out for the best part of a week.  I dropped 8 CTL points in a week.  To put that into context, it had taken 6 weeks to get to that level and I estimate a further 4 weeks to get it back.  Anyway, c’est la vie, and for once I did heed my own advice !  My first attempt to train again tonight was a horror show – no power in my legs and high heart-rate.  Suddenly those 4 weeks look like a long time…

One comment

  1. Steve · December 9

    Best get it out of the way now Ade before your training really intensifies . Good look for next season looking forward to your blogs and results .

    Like

Leave a Reply

