November Update

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

November has been a busy month.  I spent some time testing positions, upgrading my bike for next year and attended the VTTA Awards luncheon.  Oh, and I managed to fit in some riding and training too!

The testing was really interesting and was done with the guys at Veloptima at Derby Velodrome.  I spent a couple of hours trying various positions and equipment and although it turns out I was pretty aero anyway, I have a new position to work on that could be worth a considerable amount of time next season.  I just need to work on a slight flare in my right leg on the pedal-stroke and learn to stick my neck forward/head down a bit more!  Here’s some video if you’re interested

I’ve also made some tweaks to my bike.  I’ve fitted Aerocoach armrests in an attempt to pin my arms into the correct position.  They take a bit of getting used to but should provide some benefit.

I also got my mate Martin from Bike and the Mechanic to help me fit new Fibre-Lyte carbon chainrings so that I can run a 56T/42T at the front.  I say help, he actually did it all whilst I stood and chatted to him!  Martin’s a great guy – check him out if you need a bike servicing, building or any type of bike spannering.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

So far the chainrings feel good on the turbo but it’s on fast DC courses where the extra oomph should come in handy!

The weather has taken a turn for the worse up here meaning I’ve spent a bit more time on the turbo than I otherwise would, although I have ventured out from time to time.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

I also attended the VTTA Manchester & North West awards luncheon.  During the season I’d managed to bag the 25 mile championship cup, short distance trophy (best 2 10’s and 2 25’s), FTA trophy (best 2 10’s and 2 25’s local courses) and also won the Watterson Team 3 Distance (25, 50, 100) Prize with Pauline from the club. It was a lovely lunch and very inspirational – there are racers in their 60’s, 70’s and 80’s still knocking out fantastic times.  I also got to do the closing speech on behalf of the riders so hopefully I did that, and them, justice.

It has been pointed out that I’m rocking the Dave Brailsford look but I’m older than him so technically he is rocking the Ade Hughes look!

At the end of the month I also did a second FTP test following on from the one I did at the end of September.  Then my FTP was 4.3W/Kg and now it is 4.5W/Kg which is very pleasing, if not a little scary.  With each increment the training gets harder!  I’ve completed the first phase of my base training and now move onto the second.  Trainerroad has proved invaluable and I’m enjoying it, so hopefully there are more gains to come.  I’m still carrying a little winter weight so I reckon there are 2kg to come off but I won’t really specifically target my weight until January.

It’s that time of year where it is almost inevitable that colds and bugs go round.  I take multivitamins and have lots of vitamin C/fruit but I am expecting to lose some training days and have built in an allowance for that.  I have made the mistake in the past of trying to train through these things and then regretted it – but there is nothing like making your own mistakes to really hammer home a lesson!  So don’t worry about taking one step back to take two steps forward if necessary, but then you won’t listen to that if you’re anything like me!

Overall, during the month I managed a paltry 226 miles with 11,618ft ascent at around 14.8mph average (all lows for 2016), which used up around 8,552kcals. I made up for it by spending 29 hours 15 minutes on the turbo using a further 23,687kcal. Total for the month was 2,582TSS

Finally, on the basis that my next post is likely to be at the end of year I’ll wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.  Keep training! 

One comment

  1. tempocyclist.wordpress.com · November 30, 2016

    That chainring is the sex!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

