Running on Empty – September

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

My last two races in August suggested I hadn’t recovered from the 12hr the week before.  This was not unexpected but I was hoping to shake it off the following week.  I spent that next week doing very little trying to get ready for the BDCA 100, albeit with some trepidation about my form.  On the day, torrential rain and high winds meant the A50 was a spray-fest and so the event was cancelled.  It was frustrating but the correct decision as that road in those conditions would be very dangerous, and I certainly wouldn’t have ridden on it for the best part of 4 hours.  That gave me a bit more time, theoretically, to recover via a couple of fun rides out to see the Tour of Britain, and a bit of easy-ish training.

So my first race of the month was the week after – the Stone Wheelers 25 which also runs on the A50 (J5/8 course from Blyth Bridge).  It was a very fast day, but I was still tired and I really struggled, whereas lots of riders filled their boots.  In fact my 25 mile power was only a couple of watts higher than my 50 miles power the week before the 12hr which is a measure of how depleted I felt.  However, I still managed to PB (a fast day) but frustratingly missed my season goal of a “51” by 13 seconds.  Possibly the best conditions of the season and I couldn’t take real advantage – but them’s the breaks when you race as much as I do.  21st from 128 riders (£10, 2nd team prize)

The next morning I was up at 5-30am to get to Tilstock and race the WCTTA 25 on D25/8e.  I like this course but I was knackered and really not feeling it – mentally as well as physically.  It’s the first 25 where I’ve felt physically sick part-way through.  And my power was way down, less than a 50 and not that far above a 100!  Only by sheer willpower did I force myself on but it wasn’t great.  The obvious solution to this is to race less but I really enjoy racing.  Maybe I’ll consider it next year – I might have to if I want to squeeze LEL in as well.  4th from 50ish riders (£10*, 4th actual) *provisional – results not out 

My final race of the season was the Liverpool Century 10 at Rainford bypass – D10/1.  It was a lovely sunny day with a bit of a stiff wind in just the wrong direction for this course!  That said, it seemed a fast day and I actually felt pretty good.  My power was about 15W lower than the first 10 of the season back in March which is as a result of general fatigue and detraining through the season but was good enough to give me my quickest time at Rainford of 21:34.  6th from 87 riders (£10, 3rd vet)

2016 Season Roundup

So that was that – season over.  It’s been an intense season – with over 50 open and club events – and one I’m really proud of, although it seems to have flown by.  I missed a couple of goals I’d set myself but I hit the majority of them.  These included

  • a “19” 10 (three times)
  • power PBs at all distances and time PBs at 10, 25, 30 and 50 miles
  • 50 mile club champion
  • 12 hour club champion
  • Club TT champion
  • Club BAR champion
  • Club 10’s points series winner
  • VTTA Manchester & NW 25 mile winner
  • I targeted a top 5 finish in the Cheshire Points Series and came 2nd, missing out by 4 points and with a total that would have won it in any other year!
  • A couple of years ago I wanted to regularly get into the top ten of local events – this has been the year where that happened consistently
  • A win in an open event and 5 podiums – 2nd twice and 3rd three times
  • Just over £800 in prize money
  • RTTC BBAR certificate

At the start of this year I moved to a new club that had significant talent in time-trialling and I’m pleased to say that has worked out brilliantly for me.  In addition to the motivation of having to compete with riders who are faster and more experienced than me, I have been part of prize winning teams on no less than 13 occasions, which includes the club winning the Cheshire Points Series, winning the M&DTTA South Lancashire Shield and setting an event record for the Dukinfield 50.  It also helps that everyone has been super friendly and supportive too, especially those I’ve seen week in, week out at races.

2017 Training Starts Here!

The week after my final race I took a week off.  No training all week and an easy spin on Sunday.  This not only helped to both my body a break but also allowed me to reset psychologically, and get ready for properly starting winter training.  I have to say that by Wednesday I was climbing the walls and itching to get back on it.  Never thought I’d say something like that about turbo training!

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Sports science test at TheEnduranceCoach – 2013

To get ready for training the first job was to take an FTP test and reset my numbers in Trainerroad and TrainingPeaks.  My weight always drifts up by about 3-4 kilos during the race season, and when racing as much as I do fitness drifts down as I mentioned earlier (detraining – it’s impossible to recover properly AND maintain peak fitness through hard training AND then be ready to race).  There seems to be a lot of secrecy about power numbers which I can slightly understand for road racing but not for time-trialling.  Certainly when I started I had no idea what would make me competitive and what wouldn’t.  Aerodynamics plays a huge part – especially at the very, very pointy end so power is not the be all and end all.  But it’s easy to measure repeatedly if you have a power-meter and it’s clearly important, and I would have definitely benefited when I started out if I’d really known what to aim for. So I’m recording my numbers on this blog for three reasons.  Firstly this blog is my personal record.  I have a terrible memory so this helps me out a lot!  Second, it’s motivational writing things down and talking about your targets.  They’re out there which helps you retain focus.  And finally if any of the small numbers of readers of these blog find this information helpful that would be a bonus for me. I’ve been relatively competitive this year in Cheshire and generally upper quartile further afield.  So my numbers should serve as a guide if you need one.  As for aerodynamics – that’s a whole different ball game and takes a lot of time, effort and knowledge that I’m still pretty unqualified to give.  Maybe one day when I’ve sorted my own out!

  • So, at the start of my winter training in October 2015 my FTP was 4.1W/Kg (20 minute power at approximately 4.3W/Kg).
  • By March 2016, when I started racing, my FTP had risen to around 4.7W/Kg (20 minute power pushing 5W/Kg).  This was achieved by upping my power by about 8% and dropping my weight roughly 3 kilos.
  • My start point now for winter training is FTP at 4.3W/kg (20 minute power at 4.5W/Kg) which gives me a great base to work from.  If I can replicate the gains of last year and hit the same race weight then I’d be looking at around 5W/kg and 5.3W/kg.  That’s a big ask but you always need a stretch goal to target!

Here’s how the training plan looks.  It’s all planned out – just need to execute it now!

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

So, in summary for the month I managed 409 miles with 18,338ft ascent at around 17.1mph average, which used up around 15,378kcals. In addition I spent 11 hours 25 minutes on the turbo using a further 9,269kcal. Total for the month was 1,848TSS

Leave a Reply

