Cycle-Cross in Calderdale

Screen Shot 2015-09-03 at 16.57.59 Screen Shot 2015-09-03 at 16.58.16

Spent an awesome couple of hours with Giles riding the trails around Hebden Bridge.  Although I’ve done loads of road-riding in the area, we went up and down paths, trails and roads I’d not been on before, with me only getting my bearings as we criss-crossed familiar main roads.

I got a lesson in bike handling skills as I watched Giles disappear off up rocky ascents as I struggled to make traction, realising it’s far harder climbing off-road than on, and that I needed to sit down to keep my back wheel grip.  What was worse was watching him disappear even further off down the descents – I’m pretty rubbish if truth be told, and despite being confident that I have the power and the engine to compete in cyclocross, I have nowhere near good enough bike skills.  Still, it’s great fun and I’m looking forward to it.  Here’s our ride compressed into 3 minutes

Ride stats : 26.6 miles in 2hrs 26m at 10.9mph average.  3,000ft of ascent, 1504 kcals used, average HR 124bpm

Strava ride here

Leave a Reply

