August

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

I managed a few gentle training rides in Lanzarote at the start of August (see previous post) and arrived back feeling rested but slightly unfit. And two days later it was the National Clarion Road Race at York Arena.  That was great fun and it was really successful for North Cheshire Clarion, taking 1st, 2nd, 4th and 7th for myself.

The day after was Manchester Wheelers Hilly TT, a 20.5M loop round the Peak District.  I took the TT bike which was fine for going up the hills, but terrifying going down, especially in breezy conditions and on winding descents.  In fact my nervousness probably cost me a prize.  4th from 37, 58:35

On the Wednesday was the final Seamons Club 10 of the year, and I enjoyed another good ride in sunny conditions which attracted a large field.  2nd from 50, 22:41

The following Saturday was my third 50 of the season.  I’d normally done a few more by this stage and I was a bit nervous given my fitness levels.  As it was the ride went like a dream and I felt really comfortable, with a power PB and clocking my best time for J4/16, although there was a stellar field with some of the best amateurs in the country riding.  16th from 108, 01:56:14

The midweek ride at Rainford was cancelled due to the weather so my next ride was Withington Wheelers 10 at J2/1 the following Saturday.  I needed a decent ride here as I won’t get the full 10 rides in for the Cheshire points series, so need to pick up as many as I can in this and the final qualifying race in September. As it was I rode a course best time but it could have been quite a bit quicker due to traffic hold-ups and needing to unclip twice.  I’m not sure I like J2/1 – I always seem to get something holding me up.  11th from 83, 00:22:06

Rainford on the Wednesday threatened rain again, but it held off.  For some reason I felt really strong, and put down my best 10M average power and narrowly missed a “21”.  4th from 30, 22:00

In between races I tried a bit of cycle-cross riding, as I’ll be racing this autumn/winter.  Here’s a bit of video of me – first one is a short version

 

The final Sunday of the month saw me riding at D25/8e early in the morning.  It meant getting up at 5-30am and driving an hour and a half to Tilstock.  As I didn’t warm up on the turbo (an extra half hour in bed seemed favourable!) I knew the first 5 miles would be horrible.  And they were, my legs feeling heavy and slow. For a change on D25/8e the conditions were calm and I started to get stronger and stronger and managed another power PB.  I’d had decent results here with 57 and 58 minute times so when I crossed the line in my course just under 55 minutes I thought I might do well.  It was good enough for my first open podium finish, fastest veteran and £15 prize money.  I was absolutely delighted, and it was nice to finish the month with 4 successive course bests and new power bests at 10M, 25M and 50M.  3rd from 96, 54:59

August saw me ride 654 miles, with 31,523ft of climbing at an average speed of around 17.4mph.  I used 24,461kcals of energy, with another 3,392kcals during 4hrs and 18mins of turbo time.  Total training stress was 2,062TSS.

Leave a Reply

