Season of Mist 2014

Ade's Road Cycling Blog Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Season of Mist has 2.5 audax altitude award points so you know exactly what’s in store for you.  Today was a clear, cold and crisp morning – the type of autumn morning that is made for bike riding.

After the formalities of signing on and drinking coffee you are literally thrown into the first big climb of the day from the off.  Over a mile of climbing at 10% average, including a pavé section, up through Heptonstall to get the legs and lungs working.  I’d learned my lesson from previous rides so was near the front when we set off and when we hit the hill I made my way to the lead group.  This is where I first found my climbing legs have been damaged somewhat by a season of flat time trials.  Despite riding a PB time up the hill the lead group dropped me and rode away.

Apart from having to skirt the land that time forgot (Burnley) on the way out and way back, the route was pretty much all fantastic scenery and rural all the way.

Other notable climbs included Nick o’ Pendle and Waddington Fell.  I thought I’d give both a decent go but was some way off my best times, further driving home to me that I’m not the mountain goat I used to be.

I saw a few people from the audax scene that I’d not seen for a while, which was nice, but best of all was the weather.  I love riding on crisp, bright autumn days and it had warmed up enough to be comfortable.  At the end, I was more crawl than climb up the final hill to Widdup, and my legs were starting to cramp and ache.  You cannot help but love cycling on days like this – I had a brilliant day!

Ride stats : 62.5 miles in 4hrs 15mins at 14.7mph average.  7,622ft of ascent, 3,192kcals used, average HR 141bpm

Strava ride here 

Leave a Reply

