Red Rose 200

Ade's Road Cycling Blog Ade's Road Cycling Blog

There has been some biblical weather on this ride.  In 2012 it was gale force winds and rain that forced Anthony and I to abandon, and last year it was persistent rain that near enough gave me hypothermia.  This year it was cold and windy to start with, with outbreaks of sun later on, a single rain shower, and a bloody headwind all the way home, so slightly all in slightly better.

I was over an hour slower than 2013 and much of that was down to a sluggish malaise that I was unable to shrug off for the first 60 miles or so.  In fact, I was so sluggish that at the cafe at Glasson Dock I overheard one rider who had passed me earlier telling others that I must be ill.  I wasn’t ill.  Just slow.

In many ways I should have enjoyed it more – simply pottering along in some very nice countryside, including one of my favourite places at the Trough of Bowland.  But I didn’t really.  I found it a struggle.  Not physically, although I was suffering some severe pain in my left knee, but mentally.  Perhaps the pain in my knee contributed, or maybe it was just tiredness?

Thankfully, after beans on toast, a scone with jam and a mug of coffee I actually managed to shake off the doldrums and put a decent shift in riding back.  Despite the headwind and sore knee I made very good time through Longridge (stopping for ibuprofen painkillers), Burnley (unexpected GPX diversion down a canal path), Todmorden and along the valley through Hebden Bridge and Mytholmroyd to the finish at Halifax.

At the finish, somewhat annoyed at the GPX route taking me down a canal path in Burnley (you don’t need much imagination to know what that’s like) I mentioned to Chris Crossland that I didn’t much care for this new route.  Looking bemused he asked what canal path – there wasn’t one on the route?  Despite me not having route re-calculation switched on, the Garmin had somehow made up its own route down a canal path which brought me back onto the main route.  “Lucky” for me I suppose.  Anyway, I made it back without ending up in the water or being interfered with, so that’s the main thing.

Ride stats : 126.6 miles in 8hrs 8mins at 15.5mph average.  8,177ft ascent, energy used 4,574kcals.  Average HR 121bpm

Strava ride here

 

Leave a Reply

