LEL Summary

Ade's Road Cycling BlogI’d spent the best part of 6 months preparing for LEL.  Here’s what went right and what went wrong

  • I used the right bike, despite the minor descending hiccup
  • The months of training in terrible weather were ESSENTIAL to build the mental strength necessary
  • I carried too much kit that I didn’t use
  • I’m never using a crossbar bag again
  • Special kudos to those who rode it alone, especially the foreign contingent.  That takes additional mental strength
  • I hadn’t considered what to do in the case of injury so was forced to think on the fly at a time when I wasn’t thinking straight
  • Big thanks to Chris who got me through some tough sections, and to Steve and Paula for helping me with my knee
  • The B&B, whilst fantastic, was probably a mistake as my legs weren’t the same after that elongated stop
  • The first day was too much – I should have listened to Peter, and not Chris 😉
  • The organisation was impeccable throughout, and the hundreds of volunteers did a fantastic job, allowing us to focus simply on the ride.  Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant and puts all commercial ventures to shame, especially when you consider how cheap it was to enter
  • My knees and legs are shot, my fingertips are numb, my big toes are numb, my arse looks like a World War I battlefield and I haven’t had any feeling in my undercarriage since before the start
  • I’m never doing it again
  • I can’t wait to do it again

Total ride stats

  • Total time taken 104hrs 43mins
  • Total distance 885.4miles in 59hrs 59mins ride time at 14.8mph average
  • 30,846ft of climbing
  • 35,390kcals energy used
  • 114bpm average HR
Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Finishers medal

 

10 comments

  1. Chris · August 3, 2013

    Chapeau! Can’t wait for PBP 😉

    Like

  2. Richard Seipp (@richpips) · August 3, 2013

    Fantastic effort, and great writing too.

    Like

  3. Colin Fletcher · August 3, 2013

    Really well done, worth the £20 sponsorship to read about your training and the actual event, inspirational stuff!

    Like

  4. Ade · August 3, 2013

    Thanks all, appreciated

    Like

  5. samfay123 · August 5, 2013

    I’m sat in the comfort of my living room reading the blog and my knee is starting to ache in sympathy! I completely get what you say about the cross bar bag. I’ve got a High 5 one which is fine If I don’t stuff it full but if I do it can impede the natural movement.
    A particular big pat on the back for finishing the ride with the issues that you had. Out of curiosity, what make are the club bib shorts? A brand to avoid.
    Day 1 was a very fast pace over such a long distance. Do you feel that if you had backed the pace off and ridden for the same time it would have made the next 4 days that much easier and contributed to a higher overall moving average speed?

    Like

  6. Rupert Englander · August 6, 2013

    Chapeau Ade. Incredible journey and a great write up!

    Like

  7. Human Cyclist · January 3, 2015

    Stumbled across your story when looking for a route for London – Edinburgh. Bravo indeed, sounds like an incredible journey. I’ll be going one way and taking longer! Assume your route was all on well surfaced roads?

    Like

    • Ade · January 3, 2015

      Thank you. Mainly well-surfaced but it’s almost impossible to do any kind of journey in the UK without encountering potholes of varying degrees!

      Like

      • Human Cyclist · January 3, 2015

        Thanks for the reply Ade, potholes I can handle (assuming I see them!) just not a fan of gravel and mud! Thank you for the route looks good – nice and quiet roads, exactly what I was looking for. Your long distance epics remind me of the latest attempt to break the most miles cycled in a year. 205 miles every day for a year. Whoa.

        Like

  8. Pingback: London Edinburgh London – MadeGood Films Documentary | Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Leave a Reply

