Roun’ t’ West Ridin’ 203km Audax

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Ade's Road Cycling BlogRoun’ t’ West Ridin’ is part of the Saddleworth series of audaxes run by Don Black, but apparently being taken over from 2014 by Saddleworth Clarion.  I’ve done a few of these and there is always a warm welcome, refreshments and food at start and finish, and an interesting route with plenty of hills.  I expect nothing much to change next year then!

As we set off I got to the front and went off on my own.  It was 90 miles later before I briefly saw someone on the ride at a café.  There were a few lumps near the start before a pretty long almost flat section.  Some bits of this were not too pleasant – fast long stretches of road and dual carriageways.  Other bits were just plain odd – a cycle-track that looked like it had been used for manoeuvres by the British Army tank regiment.  But it didn’t matter because the sun was shining and all was well!

What I wasn’t aware of, until I turned back for the last 50 miles or so, was that the westerly breeze was actually quite strong!  It cooled the heat of the day but it made progress much harder, especially the last slog up Windy Hill.

The Carradice saddle bag for LEL that I used for the first time seemed to work well.  I did notice, from time to time, a very slight twinge in my left knee but overall, a brilliant day, very tiring riding on your own but great training.

Ride stats : 126miles in 7hrs 55m at 15.9mph average.  9,196ft ascent, 5,516kcals energy used.  Average HR 126bpm.

Strava ride here

 

Leave a Reply

