Barring Mechanicals – Book Review

With LEL fast approaching (it’s 8 weeks this Sunday!) I finally got round to reading the only book on the subject that I could find – Andy Allsopp’s Barring Mechanicals – From London to Edinburgh and back on a recumbent bicycle.  I bought it for my Kindle ages ago but yesterday I settled down to start it.  And for the first time in a very long time, I didn’t put it down until I’d finished!  If you are a cyclist (and I’m guessing you are if you are reading this), if you are remotely interested in endurance events or even if you are just interested in how people respond to extreme challenge, then you will enjoy reading this.  It isn’t especially long, and the style is blog-like (I mean that as a compliment) but it captures the absolute essence of endurance, challenge and long-distance cycling.  I found it utterly inspiring and despite the trials and tribulations Andy went through in 2009 I now cannot wait for the start of 2013’s LEL.

Highly recommended and for less than the price of a pint on Kindle!

Leave a Reply

