First thoughts on LEL

 

 

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

So I’ve managed to secure a place on LEL.  It’s been a massive success so far as it was sold out in little more than half a day – with around a 1000 people signing up.  Over the coming weeks I’ll be writing more about my training plans, about the logistics and about the general preparation I’m making.  In terms of logistics the ride starts on Sunday 28th July and I’ve signed up for a start time between 8am and 9am.  Registration is on the Saturday, which means I have to get down to London then, and find somewhere to stay overnight near Loughton in Essex, as well as somewhere to leave the car for the week.  As part of the ride there are controls every 80km or so that you need to check in at to prove you have done it.  These have food, showers and lots of beds.

I’ve already booked a B&B in Thirsk for the night of the Tuesday 30th.  This was a tip that an experienced audaxer gave me.  Basically, sleep can be difficult in a school hall with 200 other people – especially as people arrive and leave at all times – so having a room to yourself at the psychologically important 1000km mark at least guarantees you a good nights sleep.

So how do I plan to break the ride up?  The answer is I’m not sure yet.  I have a couple of ideas, and I’m sure they’ll change as I read more about it.  Also, everyone who does these things seems to suggest that plans go out of the window when you start.  So we’ll see.  Here are my two thoughts so far

Plan A

  • Day 1 – Pocklington 336km
  • Day 2 – Edinburgh 369km
  • Day 3 – Thirsk 295km
  • Day 4 – St Ives 300km
  • Day 5 – Finish 118km

Plan B

  • Day 1 – Thirsk 401km
  • Day 2 – Edinburgh 304km
  • Day 3 – Thirsk 295km
  • Day 4 – St Ives 300km
  • Day 5 – Finish 118km

I think I prefer Plan B as the second day is possibly the hilliest so perhaps not sensible for it to also be the longest.  The distances don’t have much meaning written down but having done a 400k audax I know how hard that is.  To then follow it with three 300’s and still have 70 miles to go is daunting!

Anyway, plenty of time to decide.  If you’ve got this far perhaps you’d like to sponsor me.  You may even be the first!  Cheers.

3 comments

  1. david shields · January 7, 2013

    All the best on your knew challenge. I’ve started off your collection

    Like

  2. ctpotato · January 12, 2013

    Congratulations on securing a place on the ride. Those are some serious numbers, good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

