2012 Roundup

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

At the start of 2012 I outlined my cycling ambitions for the year.  They were to clock up 100 miles a week over the year, do a 400km audax, a 24 hour time trial and ride Alpe D’Huez and Galibier.  So how did I get on?

2012 Stats

UK Rides

2012 stats

  • Total Mileage : 7,424 miles
  • Total Time : 19d 15hrs 16m
  • Average Speed : 15.8mph
  • Total Ascent : 399,378ft
  • Energy Used : 393,475 kcalories
  • Average HR : 135bpm
  • Number of Centuries (>100 miles) : 19

Some maximum values too…

  • Highest Recorded Speed : 52.4mph
  • Highest Recorded Heartrate : 194
  • Longest Single Ride : 259 miles
  • Most Ascent on a Single Ride : 11,663ft
  • Most Energy on a Single Ride : 11,473 kcalories

Highlights of the Year

Alpe D'Huez

There were a number of highlights in the year for me.  The first was completing a 400km audax in April, with old mucker Anthony.  That was a hard ride and we finished it as mere shadows of the riders who started it, but nonetheless one of my goals I am proud I achieved during 2012.  The real highlights came from riding in the Alps.  I got to conquer Alpe D’Huez but only made it to the snowline at Galibier – maybe a mile or so from the summit where they hadn’t managed to clear the road.  It was still a brilliant week, with fantastic roads, superb riding, great company and epic scenery. Despite getting horribly ill on the last day, the week will live with me forever.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Audax

In 2012 I completed 32 in total (including sixteen 200k’s, two 300k’s and a 400k), covering over 3,500 miles, and racking up 50 AAA points in the calendar year.  I managed to get my AAA Triple Award (meaning I clocked over 20 AAA points three times in total), a Round the Year Randonneur Award (meaning I completed a 200km audax in each of the months of the year) and both Brevet 1000 and Randonneur 1000 awards.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

North Cheshire Clarion at the Dalesman!

Sportive

I only did three Sportives.  Two of these run by Polocini to his usual high standard, and one being the Greater Manchester closed roads event – which was amazing!

_CSP3557

Time Trials

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

2012 was the year I started to take TT’s seriously, and I hope to build on this in 2013.  I competed in eleven Kilton’s, bringing my PB down from 22:13 at the start of the season to 20:38 by the end.  I also did five 10’s, resulting in a new PB of 24:20, two 25’s and a PB of 1:02:42 (no less than Dame Sarah Storey competing in one of them!) and one 50 in 2:14:32.  Suffice it to say these times are high on my list of goals for 2013!  In addition, I did four hill climbs and my first ever race on the track at Darley Moor – and I didn’t embarrass myself in any of them.  I didn’t manage the 24 hour time trial – I was having some knee problems at the time and I figured it wouldn’t quite hold up.  Maybe another year?

Blog

Although I primarily write this blog for myself (and my appalling memory), it’s nice to know that in 2012 I had over 24,000 hits, which is a big leap over 2011.  Many of the hits come from all over the world, and I wonder if the single hits I’ve had from Armenia, Lesotho and French Polynesia will be repeated!

Weight

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

It’s fair to say that I’ve shed a bit of timber in 2012, but that’s not the whole story.  Over the past few years my weight has followed a similar pattern of dipping in the summer and then slowly increasing into winter.  This year I decided I would make a big effort to get ready for the alps, and I changed what I ate.  People ask what the secret is but there isn’t one.  It’s basically eat less and move more.  Of course, 393,475 kcalories of cycling helps, but arguably eating more sensibly has had more of an effect.  I can assure you – if I can do it, you absolutely can.

Finally…

Probably the wettest year on record according the weather guys.  I concur, as most of it appeared to fall on me.

I got a cool tattoo on my calf.  It’s pretty unique so if you see it, it’s probably me!

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

One other thing I’ve done a lot of this year is measurement.  I’ve looked at my stats, I’ve been to the Endurance Coach in April and November, and I’ve spent a bit of time trying to identify weaknesses and then work to improve them.  If you are a social cyclist then that’s great.  But if you are serious about improvement then my advice would be to capture as much data as possible.  It will help you work out what you need to improve and how to do it.  Good luck.

May I wish you a very happy and healthy 2013, and I hope you get everything you wish for. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 comments

  1. AndrewGills · January 1, 2013

    Happy New Year to you 🙂 I have enjoyed reading your blog these past few months and will continue to do so in 2013. I completed my first Audax Australia ride today. A nice little 100km Brevet Australia. It was brilliant despite the 32’C heat. I do my first 200km in 11 days 🙂

    Like

  2. xbox155 · January 21, 2013

    Quality blog always good to share your thoughts, good luck for 2013 happy riding

    Like

Leave a Reply

