20,000 miles, 1 million calories…

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

I came back to cycling on the 7th April 2009, after maybe 10 years or so not cycling.  I started cycling to work.  It was hard at first; even though I played football and had some fitness.  But it was enjoyable.  It took the stress out of the day and I began to look forward to it at the end of the day.  Then I decided to do a charity ride – the Manchester 100.  So I started doing a few training rides at weekends.  They were great.  The charity ride came and went – I really enjoyed it.  That’s when things got serious.  I got a new bike and signed up for Land’s End to John o’ Groats as another charity event.  That needed more training.  I joined a club and it all went downhill from there.  Except the uphill bits.

Fast forward three and a half years and I happened upon something I think is interesting.  In that time I’ve just this weekend ticked over 20,000 miles.  And I’ve used 1,009,231 kcalories of energy.  That’s a million calories of energy I wouldn’t otherwise have used.

If I can do it, you can too.

2 comments

  1. eamonn bedford · October 5, 2012

    Nice one..very impressive indeed!!! I only started July 2011 from no fitness really and up to now done about 3000 miles which i’m chuffed with..I just want to go longer and higher!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

