Bury Clarion Hill Climb

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Dave Mitchell receiving prize and medal for 3rd place

I was looking forward to this hill climb to see whether I’d improved over last year.  The climb was again organised by Bury Clarion over the same 1km course up Lumb Carr Road in Holcombe near Ramsbottom, with free Co-operative fairtrade chocolate for all entrants.

Last year I blew up really quickly and made it over the line in 2 minutes and 59 seconds.  This year I lasted much longer before I blew up, and had enough left for a sprint to the finish, my time of 2:38 representing a 21s improvement over last year.  Still no match for Dave Mitchell, who came in 3rd place overall with a time of 2:21 – a great time in the conditions.

Once again, I really enjoyed it – thanks to Bury Clarion for organising.

Leave a Reply

