10 Mile Time-Trial

On Saturday I did a 10 mile time-trial at Garstang.  It’s only my 3rd real time-trial and I use my winter bike with some cheap aero bars attached to it.  Suffice to say that next to the bling carbon disc wheels, TT bikes, pointy hats and skin suits I look like a cycling hillbilly!  However, it’s good training and was recommended by the Endurance Coach sports science people I visited as something I need to do.

I managed to record a PB of 24:54 which I was very pleased with.  It was a bit breezy but mostly a crosswind.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Average HR 176bpm

It’s interesting to see my heart rate peaked, as you would expect, on the uphill areas of the course.  In theory I could push harder on the downhill bits, but because I’m on a road bike changing gear from the aero tuck is a pain, so it’s a balance.  By way of comparison, here’s the plot from my last ride at this course, which was slower and had more of a headwind on the outward leg

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Average HR 177bpm

Leave a Reply

