Here Comes Winter (Again!)

After getting soaking wet last weekend on the 400k audax, and soaking wet and hailed on last Wednesday I was hopeful that the weather this weekend would be a bit more “springlike.”

Yesterday’s National Clarion 10 mile TT at Garstang was overcast, cold and windy.  It was only my second full “10” so I still feel somewhat out of place in amongst the pointy hat and skin suit brigade, with their TT bikes and deep section or full disc wheels.  There’s me in my normal kit on my Boardman, the only hint I’m doing a TT are the aero bars that I’ve put on the handlebars.

Anyway, the course started on a slight incline into a headwind.  It took me maybe 3 miles to get into a rhythm, constantly taking my hands off the aero bars to change gear and then wobbling about a bit in the wind.  Then it was just about hanging in there.  This is the kind of thing I need to do more of as apparently I’m not well suited to it, and therefore this will help increase my threshold.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

As you can see I rode most of the ride around my threshold level, and I managed a time of 26m 14s, which is quite a bit better than my first attempt – blogged here.  This put me 9th in a field of 18 riders in the Clarion.  Call me Mr Average!

So today we did the Spring into the Dales audax starting from Hebden Bridge.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

This was my first ever audax back in 2010 and I was blown away by the friendliness, the value for money, and the route.  So myself, Anthony, Martin, Graeme and Andrew from North Cheshire Clarion started today.  The sky was blue and clear, but it was absolutely freezing.  The ride starts with a long climb out of Hebden Bridge which thins out the field of several hundred riders.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Anthony cresting the climb out of Hebden Bridge

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Anthony the mountain goat

The warmth built up riding up the hill was soon dissipated on the descent – absolutely freezing ice-cream headache type cold!

A few more ups and downs and some hitching a tow on the back of a fast-moving group soon brought us to the first stop at the Dalesman café in Cargrave.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

North Cheshire Clarion at the Dalesman!

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Sweets anyone?

From the Dalesman the ride continued up and down to Bolton Abbey, over some more big hills and then eventually onto the worst bit of the route – into and out of Keighley.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Anthony and no horse

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Graeme and Martin and horse

The finish was a climb back up from Oxenhope and then long descent into Hebden Bridge – get warm then get cold again!  As usual at the finish was some lovely catering – the best rocky road in the world amongst it.

Good ride even though it was freezing, and good to bump into friends such as Peter for a chat on the way.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

7076ft of ascent

Ride stats : 69miles in 4hrs 52m at 14.2mph.  7076ft of ascent, average HR 131bpm, 3321kcals

Strava ride here

One comment

  1. peter · April 16, 2012

    Good pics, Ade! It was good to see you all again. I had a good day, in spite of seeming to spend most of it waiting at roadworks. I’m not surprised you took it easy after the TT and Monyash – and that wet and windy 400. I’d missed that report (you ride too often!) but you made me feel every raindrop! I did my first 400 the week before up to Alston on The Old 240. Dry as a bone but COLD overnight.

    Cheers

    Peter

    Like

Leave a Reply

