First Quarter 2012 Stats

Since the start of 2012 I’ve been on a diet and training for a trip to the French Alps in May.  The intention is to spend a week riding up some of the famous mountains out there and I’d like to do it from a position of fitness.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Total Miles March - 570 miles, Q1 - 1572 miles

I’ve managed to do a reasonable mileage this year, comparable to 2011.  I’ve been doing shorter commutes but longer weekend rides.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Total Climb March - 31,028ft, Q1 - 81,245ft

What I have done differently this year is increase the number of very hilly rides this early in the year.  In fact I’m not far off double the amount of climbing over last year, with over 80,000ft so far. In doing that I’ve managed 10.75AAA points which I’m pleased about.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Average Speed March - 15.6mph, Q1 - 15.3mph

What is also pleasing is the fact that my average speed for has increased over the same period as last year.  It may not be by much, but taking into account the additional climbing I’ve done I’m more than happy with it as an average.

Finally, towards the end of last year I let the weight creep up which meant that I needed to sort my diet out.  So far this year I have lost 10kg and nearly 5% body fat.  Hard work but it really is as simple as eating less and moving more.

Onwards and upwards.

Leave a Reply

