What a Difference a Week Makes…

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Ade's Road Cycling BlogAs a (mid) forty-something who usually does some form of exercise six days out of seven, I do suffer from a very quick fall in fitness if I stop for a relatively short time.  I guess it’s an age thing.  So after a week of holidaying in Cornwall eating whatever I want and doing no exercise other than walking, I wasn’t looking forward to todays long ride with North Cheshire Clarion.

And I have to say I was right.  It’s been a while since I’ve been knackered after a club run but today was one of those times.  The weather was awful – rain and a bit of a breeze, but the company was excellent – Anthony and young Martin.  The pace was relatively quick, especially when Martin got on the front.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

10 mile average speeds

Disaster struck when I got a puncture on the rear wheel.  I spotted the culprit straight away – a shard of glass, but didn’t pull it out.  I then removed two pieces with the tyre off, changed the tube and off we went again.  For a couple of miles before it flattened again.  Found the first shard this time and off we went again for a well deserved break at the cafe stop.  Thanks to Martin and Anthony for not being too “hilarious” in their comments!

On top of that the Garmin was playing up – see the blip below – and I think the weatherproof seal may not be completely waterproof or, in fact, a seal, as there was condensation inside the screen.

Ade's Road Cycling Blog

Mr Garmin fell down a mine shaft at 34M, but climbed back up...

The final stretch we battered along and I was pretty tired at the end.  Great ride, went like clockwork, so big thanks to Martin and Anthony.

Ride Stats: 72 miles in 3hrs 58m at 18.1mph average. 1599ft climb, average HR of 147bpm and 3340kcals used

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. welna · June 5, 2011

    Well done Ade ! Get all those scones out of your system 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

