Rufford Loop

Went out on my own this morning and decided to ride to Rufford.  I picked a route that headed north through Ainsworth, Tottington and Affetside and then up towards Edgworth.  Just before Edgeworth I needed to divert my route as I appear to have chosen an off-road track by mistake.  That added a mile or so and a cheeky hill.  My next route diversion was near Belmont.  Despite road closed signs I followed the Garmin and ended up at the back of Belmont with nowhere to go, so needed to about-face and head a different way through Belmont and up the climb and descent to Rivington.  Turning right I headed through Chorley – land of the roundabouts – and then west towards Southport, riding through those lovely roads around Croxton.

I stopped for refreshments at Fettlers Wharf at Rufford Marina.  To the chap I tried to help with his Garmin, if you’ve found your way here then this is the page you should look at.

Heading back I threaded myself through lots of back lanes and country roads until I hit more urban roads in Standish and then Horwich, and finally through Bolton and back home.

3611ft of ascent

Overall a lumpy ride with a fairly flat middle.  The weather couldn’t make it’s mind up.  During the ride I had my waterproof jacket on, my lights on because of low cloud/mist, my sunglasses on sleeves rolled up and finally I raced a sudden downpour home, getting beaten by about 2 minutes!

Ride Stats : 67.5 miles in 4hrs 21 mins @ 15.5mph average.  3611ft of climbing, 3269 kcals of energy and average HR of 137bpm

2 comments

  1. Steven Ball · April 3, 2011

    Thanks Ade, I’m the guy who can’t work his Garmin.
    We clocked about 50 miles today and whatever route we took we had a headwind, how does that work?
    May bump into you again – Ste

    Like

  2. Simon Parker · April 13, 2011

    Hi Ade – you went close by my house with this ride. Next time you do it, let me know and I might try and keep up with you from Bolton.

    Like

Leave a Reply

