Boardman Bikes

As Boardman bikes announces a new lineup of road bikes for 2011 that takes it into direct competition with a lot of more established brands, I think that few people will be as qualified as me to comment on the merits of their bikes.

In the 14 months that I have owned my Team Carbon I have covered over 5,500 miles on it, climbed nearly 217,000ft and spent 15 days and 13 hours in the saddle, covering the length and breadth of the country.  I know what I’m talking about with this bike.

The bike looks sporty, with it’s angled top tube, oversize down tube, and very straight front forks.  It looks like it means business.  It’s very light but stiff enough to be instantly responsive.  It almost eggs you on to get out of your seat and hammer it.  It climbs beautifully, and descends very assuredly.  Going fast round corners is a confident pleasure.

The wheels aren’t the best feature so I’ve changed them to Shimano RS80’s – making the bike even more responsive.  The rest of the kit on the bike has been first rate – I especially like SRAM double-tap.

I’ll be looking to buy a new bike in the future, and perhaps step up to the next level.  There’s a lot of brand snobbery out there, but after my experiences of this bike, the new elite range  will certainly be on my list to be considered.  If you’re in the market for a bike I would say don’t discount Boardman bikes.

2 comments

  1. Chris · March 8, 2011

    I agree from what I have seen and read they are great bikes, very good value. I see the only real problem is their exclusivity to Halfords. What was your experience of dealing with them?

    I just cant imagine spending £1000+ in one of their shops. When you spend that much you also need fitting advice after sales etc. It will be interesting to see if the more expensive models start to appear else where.

    Like

    • Ade · March 8, 2011

      Hmmm, the less said about them the better. Didn’t set up the gears properly or even the brakes!!

      It is the only problem with the bikes I would say

      Like

Leave a Reply

