North Cheshire Clarion Cycling Club

One of the legacies of this ride and my training for it will be the fact that I have joined a cycling club.  Last year when i was doing some limited training for the Manchester 100 the problem I found was that it gets very lonely riding long distances on your own.  And I found the same again this year.  It’s much better cycling with other people.  Not just for the social side of things, but also because it helps improve your fitness and mental strength too – it helps your training itself.  It’s a lot easier to ease off on your own for example, if you feel a bit tired.  A group will pull you along.

So when I was thinking about it I came across North Cheshire Clarion amongst other clubs.  It’s a little bit further away from me than some other clubs but I have to say that the setup, the organisation and the friendliness swung it for me.  And I wasn’t wrong.

So, if you are thinking about joining a cycling club, and I would encourage you to do it, then why not come along to one of the Saturday or Sunday rides with the NCC and give it a try – you can ride as a guest and make your own mind up.

See you there!

Leave a Reply

