Different Charity, Different Me?

Ade's Road Cycling BlogAs regular readers of this blog will know, I’ve completed some charity bike rides before.

In 2010, myself and three friends rode from Land’s End to John o’ Groats in aid of the Christie cancer charity (and Macmillan).  Between us we raised well over £10,000, and I was proud to raise £3,731 plus an additional £729 of gift-aid.

In 2011, I was part of a group who rode from London to Brussels in under 24 hours, raising over £30,000 for the British Heart Foundation.  My personal sponsorship total for that was £1,660 plus £368 of gift-aid.

This year I’m riding London to Edinburgh to London, and I’m doing it for KidsCan.  So far I’ve raised £1,080 against my target of £1,500, but it would be great to get somewhere near my previous totals.  If you have sponsored me already, thank you so much.  If you haven’t, the link is on the right.

What is interesting though is the change in me across that time period.  Here are three pictures that perhaps best illustrate how cycling has helped me shed the timber!

 

2 responses to “Different Charity, Different Me?

  1. Wow. You’re disappearing ;) . Hopefully cycling helps me shed the last 2-3kg I want to get rid of this year. I’m at 75kg but would like to sit somewhere around 72kg. My biggest problem is that I love my food too much – especially Easter eggs ;) . I cut down from 85kg to 75kg in the 6 months from July 2011 – December 2011 but haven’t been able to get below that since. More miles this year might help :)

    I wish you luck with the fundraising challenge.

Leave a Reply

